Published on December 06, 2016

NMHS Providers Earn National Diabetes Recognition

TUPELO—Several health care providers affiliated with North Mississippi Health Services have been recognized for providing quality care to diabetes patients by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA).

Earning recognition during 2016 are Bonnie Basler, M.D., West Tupelo Medical Clinic; Leslie Hale, NP-BC, Diabetes Treatment Center; Ben Killman, M.D., Fulton Medical Clinic; Jennifer Lowery, M.D., Pontotoc Medical Clinic; Daryl Schroader, M.D., IMA-Tupelo; Emily Sesser, CFNP, Maben Medical Clinic; Christy Vowell, D.O., Eupora Family Medical Clinic.

The NCQA Diabetes Recognition Program is a voluntary effort to identify clinicians who provide diabetes care consistent with the comprehensive diabetes care measures within the Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS®).

The Diabetes Recognition Program includes measures for HbA1c control, blood pressure control, eye examinations, nephropathy assessment, smoking/tobacco cessation advice or treatment. When people with diabetes receive quality care as outlined by these measures, they are less likely to suffer complications such as heart attacks, stroke, blindness, kidney disease and amputations.

“For a person with diabetes, the right clinician can make the difference between living with diabetes as opposed to suffering from diabetes,” said Margaret E. O’Kane, president, National Committee for Quality Assurance. “By earning recognition, these providers have demonstrated that they provide effective, evidence-based care to patients with diabetes.”

For appointment information, call 1-800-THE DESK (1-800-843-3375). For a list of physicians recognized by the Diabetes Physician Recognition Program or for more information, visit

For More Information

Learn more by calling
1-800-THE DESK

Connect With Us

Follow us on:

facebook logo   instagram logo   twitter icon