Published on June 22, 2018

Harold Whitaker Named MHA’s 2018 Distinguished Trustee of the Year

EUPORA, Miss.—Harold Whitaker, former long-time North Mississippi Medical Center-Eupora administrator and current Webster Health Services board member, was named the 2018 Distinguished Hospital Trustee of the Year by the Mississippi Hospital Association.

The presentation was made at MHA’s 87th annual Leadership Conference, held June 5- 8 at Point Clear, Ala.

The award is given to an individual who has demonstrated significant contributions in the field of hospital governance over a sustained period of time. A selection committee appointed by the chairman of the MHA Board of Governors determines the recipient from nominations from hospital board chairmen, other trustees and hospital chief executive officers. The Trustee of the Year is featured in a video presentation shown in an awards presentation during the Trustee Appreciation Breakfast.

Whitaker retired in 2005 after serving for 33 years as administrator at NMMC-Eupora. He was named board chairman for Webster Health Services in early 2006 and has served on the board since that time.

Whitaker graduated with a bachelor’s degree in public accounting from Mississippi State College, now Mississippi State University, in Starkville in 1956. He moved to Eupora in December 1972 as administrator at what was then Webster General Hospital.

Under his leadership, the Eupora hospital underwent two major construction projects, including a $9.5 million expansion project in 2002. In 1979, the Eupora facility underwent a $1.36 million expansion and renovation project.

Prior to his move to Eupora, Whitaker served as supervisor of the Health Facilities Certification Unit of the Mississippi State Board of Health. In 1959, Whitaker began his career in hospital administration as assistant administrator of the Greenwood LeFlore Hospital. He served as administrator at Field Memorial Community Hospital in Centreville and Tallahatchie General Hospital in Charleston.

For More Information

Learn more by calling
1-800-THE DESK

Connect With Us

Follow us on:

facebook logo   instagram logo   twitter icon