Published on June 21, 2022

NMMC, Foundation Award Health Care Scholarships

TUPELO, Mississippi—North Mississippi Medical Center and the Health Care Foundation of North Mississippi recently awarded scholarships to individuals in Lee County who are pursuing a health career.

For more information about health career scholarships, visit and 

Bryson BowdryBryson Bowdry, Tupelo High School graduate. Bowdry was on the Superintendent’s and Principal’s Lists and participated in Boy’s State and NMMC’s Mentorship Academy. He will study biology/pre-medicine at the University of Mississippi.
Lauren FrederickLauren Frederick, THS graduate. Frederick was an ACT Scholar, inducted into the National Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta, captain of the soccer team and active in several clubs. She has been accepted into the University of Mississippi’s early entry pharmacy program.
Collin KollmeyerCollin Kollmeyer, THS graduate. Kollmeyer was a member of the National Honor Society, Future Medical Professionals, AP Science Club and Mu Alpha Theta, and received several awards. He plans to study biology at Mississippi State University.
Lily OdomLily Odom, THS graduate. Odom was on the Superintendent’s list and volunteers at Faith Food Pantry in Nettleton. She plans to study biology at Mississippi State University.
Caitlyn CarnathanCaitlyn Carnathan, Saltillo High School graduate. Carnathan founded Serving Sisters, a group that completes community service projects in Lee County and played softball and soccer. She served on the Superintendent’s Advisory Committee and as student body treasurer. She will study kinesiology at Northeast Mississippi Community College and aspires to be a physician’s assistant. 
Kelsey FiskKelsey Fisk, SHS graduate. She played basketball and participated in Beta Club and Girl Scouts. She is participating in NMMC’s Mentorship Academy and will attend the University of Mississippi.
Angel GreerAngel Greer, THS graduate. Greer was inducted into the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta and National English Honor Society. She was a Rotary Scholar and ACT Scholar and received the Chemistry Award. She will pursue a degree in psychology from Mississippi State University. 
Kaitlyn HamblinKaitlyn Hamblin, Excelsior Classical homeschool cooperative graduate. Hamblin is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and Eta Sigma Alpha honor societies and is a Mississippi Eminent Scholar. She plans to study biology/pre-medicine at Mississippi College.
Abby HannonAbby Hannon, SHS graduate. Hannon received the Citizenship Award, took advanced math and science classes and shadowed physical therapists. She will attend the University of North Alabama in Florence.
Carson LangfordCarson Langford, SHS graduate. Langford plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree in health science at Missouri Baptist University in St. Louis, where he received a football scholarship. He plans to pursue a nursing career.
Karlie McKinneyKarlie McKinney, Nettleton High School graduate. McKinney excelled in academics and was a member of Mu Alpha Theta, Beta Club, Student Government Association and Junior Civitan. She will attend Itawamba Community College and aspires to be an occupational therapist.
Autumn PetersAutumn Peters, THS graduate. Peters was a member of the National Honor Society and Future Medical Professionals and played volleyball. She participates in NMMC’s Mentorship Academy and will attend the University of Mississippi with plans to be a physician.
Morgan RakestrawMorgan Rakestraw, SHS graduate. Rakestraw was an honor roll and President’s List student and participated in Anchor Club and Serving Sisters. She will study nursing at UNA in Florence.
Blake WilliamsonBlake Williamson, NHS graduate. Williamson participated in Beta Club, Mu Alpha Theta, National Honor Society and Student Council. He was selected as Most Outstanding Band Member and plays piano at Brewer United Methodist Church. He will study biology and nursing at the University of Mississippi.

Other recipients are:

Sarra GodwinSarra Godwin, executive assistant in Information Technology Services at North Mississippi Health Services. She recently graduated with her bachelor’s degree in health information management and is currently enrolled in a master’s degree program through Western Governors University.
Ben RichardsBen Richards, administrative director of NMMC Emergency Services, which includes the Patient Logistics Center, Enterprise Dispatch, Ambassador Services, CareFlight, Critical Care Transport and Trauma Department. A paramedic and registered nurse, Richards is pursuing his Master of Business Administration at UNA in Florence.

For More Information

Learn more by calling
1-800-THE DESK

Connect With Us

Follow us on:

facebook logo   instagram logo   twitter icon